The wooden Greek Catholic church of Mikulášová dedicated to the Intercession of the Theotokos was originally built in 1730. The church was relocated in 1931 to Bardejovské Kúpele (Bardejov Spa), located 6 kilometers north of Bardejov.

The original wooden church in Mikulášová served its original purpose at least until 1926. Local inhabitants began to build a new bricked church during the same year. The new building was set up next to the decayingolder wooden church. The subsequent relocation of the wooden church, from its original place in Mikulášová to Bardejovské Kúpele, represented one of the most significant monument preservation work done in the first half of twenty century Slovakia.

The church has three-part architecture, sporting three towers and crosses. The entry is located on the western part. The building is adorned by a unique external wall painting not common to other churches of the type. The outer wall of the tower contains a depiction of clocks. These are however non-functional and have only a symbolic value. The inside of the tower holds one bell.

The interior of the church is dominated an eighteen century iconostasis of five row composition. Some of the original icons are however stored at the museum of icons in Bardejov. The base frame of the iconostasis, the royal doors, the icons of the prophets and the Deesis as well as the whole fifth row of icons are genuine elements. However the four main icons, the icons of feast days and the icons of the apostles were replaced by copies in 2005. 

The first row of iconostasis consists of the icons of Saint Nicolas, Hodegetria, Christ the Teacher and a younger, misplaced icon of The Dormition of the Mother of God. Instead the spot should have been occupied by the icon Intercession of the Theotokos. Icons of the second row depict feast days. The royal doors are adorned by medallions depicting the Four Evangelist and two scenes from the Annunciation. The space above the royal doors is surprisingly not occupied by the depiction of the Last Supper but by an Image of Edessa.

The third row of the iconostasis is mostly occupied with icons depicting individual apostles. The middle of the row consists of icons depicting Christ the Teacher, Hodegetria and Saint John the Baptist. 

The fourth row consists of four medallions each with a depiction of two prophets. The middle of the row contains a three-bar cross. The fifth row consists of icons depicting King David, the Sacrifice of Isaac as well as two icons depicting scenes with Judith and Holofernes. 

The sanctuary contains a patronal eighteenth century icon of the Intercession of the Theotokos.

The church was relocated to the Museum of folk art in 2005 and significantly restored there.

The building now serves as a museum, church and a place for cultural occasions for the local Greek Catholic community. Mass is held every Sunday at 9:30 AM. During feast days and on Tuesdays and Thursdays mass is held at 4 PM.

Location:
maps.google.com

Translated by:
Mgr. Samuel Beňa, M.A.


Source:
drevenechramy.sk