The wooden Greek Catholic church of Saint Simeon the God-receiver is the most distinctive building in the village of Kožany located 22 kilometers southeast from Bardejov. The church, originally dedicated to The Intercession of the Theotokos, was built in 1760. Due to its rich interior decoration and its intriguing iconostasis the building belongs to one of the most valuable examples of church architecture.

The church is composed of three main parts with three separate towers, each containing a cross. The main tower comprises three bells, one which originates from 1406, making it an unusual and unique object among the bells belonging to the wooden churches of the area.

The whole inner structure of the building is dominated by a unique iconostasis composed of five rows. The main row consists of the icons of Saint Bishop Nicolas, Hodegetria, Christ the Teacher as well as the icon of Saint Simeon the God-receiver.

The second row comprises icons depicting twelve feast days. In the middle of the row is a depiction of the Last Supper. The third row is composed of icons depicting individual apostles. The row is divided in the middle by the icon of Christ the High Priest.

The fourth row consists of twelve individual medallions each depicting a prophet. The middle of the row contains the scene of the Crucifixion and includes the figures of the Mother of God as well as Saint John the Apostle. The fifth row holds the icons of Saint Peter and Saint Paul together with the Mother of God as well as the depiction of Saint Jacob’s dream.

The iconostasis is unusually comprised of only two sets of doors – the royal doors in the center and the deacon’s doors in the northern part of the building. The former is adorned by the depictions of the Annunciation and the four Evangelists.

The sanctuary of the church contains an altar with a nineteenth century icon depicting the scene of the Lamentation. The nave and the sanctuary are adorned by beautiful eighteenth century wall paintings. Other items of aesthetic value include a gothic style iron window fence, a decorated chandelier, a wooden bowl, candlesticks and other objects related to worship.

Last restoration works were conducted during the time span of 1965–1970. The church’s exterior was renovated in the period from 2000 until 2003.

Mass is held every Sunday at 8 o’clock in the morning. During feast days the mass takes place 4:30 PM.


Translated by:
Mgr. Samuel Beňa, M.A.