The Greek Catholic wooden church of Saint Archangel Michael lies 21 km northwest from the town of Bardejov in the village of Frička. Built in 1829 on an elevation in the centre of the village the church still keeps its original form until today. 

The church is a three part structure containing two towers and three crosses. Its foundations are of stone. The view of the western part of the church is dominated by a robust tower with room enough to contain three bells. The oldest of them is dated to 1697.

The church contains a wooden iconostasis of 5 rows from the eighteenth and nineteenth century. The first (and major) row is composed of icons depicting saint bishop Nicolas, the Mother of God Hodegetria, Christ the Teacher as well as the patron of the church Saint Michael the Archangel. 

The second row of icons depicts feast days. The third row includes icons depicting the apostles with an icon of Christ the High Priest in the centre. The fourth row includes six icons depicting prophets. Every icon contains two figures each. 

The fifth row is placed under four main icons – that of Saint Nicolas calming the storm, Saint Anthony with Saint Theodosius, the three hierarchs and Saint John the Baptist. 
The rows of the iconostasis end with a depiction of the Crucifixion. The depiction is flanked by the figures of the Mother of God and Saint John the Evangelist. 

The iconostasis includes a lavishly decorated notched royal doors adorned by six medallions depicting four evangelists and several scenes from the Annunciation. 

The icons of the Last Supper and of the Entombment of Christ are placed in a space above the two respective deacons’ doors. The sanctuary contains a twenty century ceiling painting.

The church underwent several modifications in the year 1933 and again in 1971. 

The mass is being held every Sunday at 8 o’ clock in the morning. 

Location:
maps.google.com

Translated by:
Mgr. Samuel Beňa, M.A.


Source:
drevenechramy.sk